Contact Us for a Free Consultation 703-750-3622

Fairfax Criminal Defense Blog

Virginia Grand Larceny Threshold Doubles Again

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Nov 12, 2020 | 0 Comments

In 2018, when the threshold (aka, minimum requirement to be charged) for grand larceny in Virginia jumped from $200 to $500, it was the first increase in the threshold in nearly 40 years. But on July 1 of this year, we saw the threshold amount increase again, this time from $500 to $1000. While t...

New Virginia Ignition Interlock Device Laws for DUIDs

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Oct 12, 2020 | 0 Comments

Being charged with a first offense DUID (driving under the influence of drugs) in the Commonwealth of Virginia carries a variety of harsh penalties, but recent changes to Virginia interlock law have made life a little easier for those facing a first-time DUID. Under the changes,  those facing a f...

Beware of Fairfax DUI Checkpoints on the 4th of July

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Jul 01, 2020 | 0 Comments

Now that stay-at-home orders have lifted, people across northern Virginia are excited to celebrate Independence Day, but don't forget that it's important to exercise caution if you plan to drink alcohol during the holiday. More than likely, we'll see a rash of DUI arrests during the Fourth of J...

Must-Know Facts About VA Marijuana Decriminalization

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Jun 23, 2020 | 0 Comments

As you likely remember, back in April of this year Governor Ralph Northam signed Virginia HB 972 decriminalizing simple marijuana possession in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Now the Virginia decriminalization date is nearly upon us: effective July 1, simple possession of marijuana will no longe...

How to Handle VASAP Noncompliance

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Jun 18, 2020 | 0 Comments

If you've ever received a DUI in the Commonwealth of Virginia, you're probably familiar with the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (usually referred to as ASAP). ASAP, which is required if you have been convicted of a DUI, is a series of classes and treatment programs that help people with...

Can a Reckless Driving Conviction Affect My Job?

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Jun 08, 2020 | 0 Comments

As with all criminal charges, if you are convicted of reckless driving, you will need to disclose (if asked) the conviction in a background check, which means that potential, and sometimes current employers will become aware of it. This leaves many people wondering to what degree can it affect th...

How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Criminal Record?

Posted by John A. Kassabian | May 26, 2020 | 0 Comments

After being charged with a DUI, most people want the situation to just be over with so they can move forward with their lives. Unfortunately, a DUI is a criminal offense, which means it will appear on your criminal record. In addition, it will be included on your driving record and show up on b...

What Happens After a First Offense DUI in Virginia?

Posted by John A. Kassabian | May 22, 2020 | 0 Comments

A first offense DUI can be an incredibly scary and intimidating experience, but it is important to remember that although it may feel like it at the time, your entire life won't come to an end because of the charge. That said, knowing what to expect after your first DUI can go a long way toward...

When is Speeding Considered Reckless Driving?

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Apr 30, 2020 | 0 Comments

When it comes to reckless driving, one of the most common questions I am asked is when speeding crosses the line and becomes a reckless driving charge. Virginia law is very specific about this, and recent bills passed in the House and the Senate may be helpful to drivers, allowing them to avoid...

Is Reckless Driving a Felony in Virginia?

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Apr 16, 2020 | 0 Comments

If you are charged with reckless driving in Virginia, you can usually expect to be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor. While the penalties for this charge are not ideal, and include up to a $2500 fine, up to 12 months in jail, and the loss of your driver's license for up to six months, a misdem...

DUI Checkpoints and Virginia Law

Posted by John A. Kassabian | Apr 03, 2020 | 0 Comments

There is nothing scarier that driving home after a dinner with friends or watching a big game at a sports bar and discovering that you are about to be stopped at a DUI checkpoint. Even if you have had little to drink, Virginia law does not require that your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is ...

  • 1 of 2

Call Today!

It's never to early to start preparing for your case.

Menu